By: Beltz Law Firm
Share This Post
How Much Can You Drive With An Occupational Driver License In Texas?
Occupational Driver License Lawyer
One of the questions our occupational driver license attorneys get when asked about the limitations of this type of license is, “how much can I drive with one?” The answer is dependent upon what type of petition you draft. This article is intended to outline the two basic petitions that can be filed when requesting an occupational driver license so that you can choose the option that best fits your situation. If you would like to talk with our occupational driver license attorneys after reading this article, feel free to contact our office at 214-321-4105.
12 Hour Restriction For Occupational Driver License In Texas
It must first be stated that there is a definite restriction on the amount of time that a person can drive within a 24 hour period. It is not unlike the restriction that is placed on commercial drivers across the State of Texas. First, a person is only allowed a minimum of 4 hours on the road with an occupational driver license unless they specifically plead for more time. However, a person cannot drive under an occupational driver license restriction for longer than 12 hours a day. In fact, nobody should drive longer than this a day to be alert and drive carefully on the roadways regardless of the driver license restriction. So there is nothing truly restrictive about this requirement other than a petition requires you to establish your request for more than 4 hours and how you intend not to drive over the maximum 12 hour restriction.
Set Drive Times Under The 12 Hour Restriction
One way to establish drive times is to have a set schedule of 12 hour days in which you can drive set out in the petition. For example, “Petitioner will only drive on Mondays between the hours of 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.” This allows a lot of flexibility in that the person can drive anytime throughout the day during those times. However, it is restrictive in the fact that the license is ineligible for anytime outside of that window. This means the holder of the occupational driver license could be subject to having the license revoked again if they are caught driving outside of the time window stated in the petition. Further, they could be charged with a separate offense of driving while license invalid or failing to comply with the occupational driver license order. Both of these charges are class b misdemeanors.
Keeping A Log Book For An Occupational Driver License
The second way to keep track of drive times under an occupational driver license is to record the times in a log book. This allows the maximum flexibility in that a person can spread out the drive time throughout the entire 24 hour period. However, with this extra freedom comes the responsibility of keeping an accurate log book. If an officer pulls a person over and requests the log book it must be presented to the officer on demand for inspection. If it is not presented to the officer, then it can be considered a violation of the restrictions of the occupational driver license.
Get An Occupational Driver License
If you would like to discuss how to get an occupational driver license with our legal team, feel free to contact us at 214-321-4105. We would be glad to do a free driver license eligibility check to determine the reason for the suspension and if an occupational driver license is necessary. We look forward to assisting you if you should choose to hire our legal professionals.