By: Beltz Law Firm
Share This Post
Defensive Driving Course in Dallas
Defensive Driving Course
The Beltz Law Firm
There is nothing like the anxiety and stress of being issued a traffic ticket in Dallas (of Texas for that matter). Traffic tickets are expensive, burdensome, and confusing. Many people struggle with the available options, such as taking the case to trial or paying the fine outright or trying to keep it off their driving record. Defensive Driving (aka Driver Safety Course) may be an option. But, it may not always be the most practical. Keeping tickets off of your driving record is usually the desired goal of most people. Then again others just want to save money from the original fine amount.
Regardless of your desire, Defensive Driving, should not be the only choice. Here are some Pros and Cons concerning Defensive Driving:
1. If successful, can get case dismissed.
2. Court costs are usually around $110.00 to $125.00 depending on if the offense occurred in an active school zone.
3. May be used to reduce auto insurance rates.
4. Can be completed as quickly as you are able to complete the class and turn in the required documents.
1. Not every offense qualifies for Defensive Driving.
2. Usually, must be accepted on or before the appearance date of the ticket
3. You must give up your rights concerning the sufficiency of the ticket and city’s case against you, if you must accept the course before the appearance date of the ticket.
4. You must personally go to court and make request to court and bring Texas Driver’s License and valid insurance
5. Only Texas driver’s license holders qualify for stand alone Defensive Driving
6. Your name must appear on the insurance card (no using Mom and Dad’s card)
7. You must complete course and bring in all required documents to the court on time or you will not be granted the dismissal and all your hard work will be for nothing
8. You must order a certified copy of your driving record and bring before the completion date
9. You cannot used Defensive Driving alone to dismiss more than one case during any 12 month period
10. Your driving record will reflect that you received a ticket and you used Defensive Driving to get it dismissed (versus a Deferred Adjudication which will result in no mention of a ticket on your record)
11. The cost of the course and the driving record and the court costs along with your time usually is worth more or as much as the cost of Deferred Adjudication
12. You must sit through a 6-8 hour course
13. If you fail to meet any requirement of the Defensive Driving option, you will likely be ordered back to court to explain to the judge why he/she should not find you guilty.
As you can see, Defensive Driving is an option, but not one that we believe is always the best. Of course, there are exceptions to the rule and your case may require Defensive Driving in order to get a case dismissed. Our office can assist you in explaining your options so that you can make the best decision for yourself. Call our office for a free consultation.
feel free to contact us:
- USE OUR CLICK TO CHAT FUNCTION
- FILL OUT OUR QUESTIONNAIRE TO HAVE A LEGAL PROFESSIONAL CALL YOU BACK: https://beltzlaw.com/traffic-ticket-help/traffic-ticket-questionnaire/
- CALL US TOLL FREE AT 214-321-4105