By: Beltz Law Firm
Share This Post
How To Remove A Hold From Your Driver’s License In Texas
Getting Your License Back After A Hold Has Been Placed On It
Understanding The Steps To Driving Legally Again
One of the main reasons people hire our traffic ticket attorneys in Texas is due to holds that have been placed on their license due to outstanding traffic tickets. This issue is an ever increasing concern for drivers across the State Of Texas. This article is intended to help explain how the hold is issued and what needs to be done to remove the hold. If you need the assistance of a Texas traffic ticket attorney to help you with a hold on your driver’s license call our legal professionals today at 214-321-4105. Removing a hold on a driver license can seem complicated. This article outlines the laws that apply to getting a hold removed. Don’t get too caught up in the legal jargon listed below. The 2 main steps to remove a hold are as follows:
- Get the warrant removed by filing an appearance bond (an attorney can do this) and;
- Pay the omni fee of $30.00 per violation to the court that placed the hold on the license.
If you need help accomplishing these 2 steps it is best to allow an experienced traffic ticket attorney to assist you.
Why It Is Important To Remove A Driver License Hold With These Steps
If you do not remove the hold properly, then you could face worse penalties than the hold itself. Many Texans choose to just go and pay off the old tickets. Sometimes they spend thousands paying off old tickets to try and get their license back. The problem with that is that for every ticket that is paid off, each one is reported as a permanent conviction on their driving record.
Permanent convictions are then reported to The Department Of Public Safety Surcharge Program. This program can then assess financial penalties against the person for each separate violation that was paid off and reported as a conviction. As an example, a surcharge penalty for no insurance tickets is $780.00. That can be as much as twice the cost of the fine paid at the courthouse. Imagine a person paying two or three no insurance tickets. That would be $780.00 in additional fees owed to DPS for each one.
So the person thought they were doing the right thing by paying off the tickets only to find that their license is now suspended indefinitely until they pay the surcharges as well. It turns into an endless cycle of debt.
This is why an attorney is needed for traffic tickets that have a hold on a person’s license. An attorney can remove the hold and negotiate a deal with the individual court to not have the violation reported to DPS. The attorney takes the two steps discussed above to accomplish this.
How Is The Hold Placed On A Texas Driver’s License
A hold is placed on a Texas driver’s license by allowing a ticket to go past the appearance date without resolving it. For example, if you get a traffic ticket in Texas and neglect that citation until the time that it goes into warrant status, then the court where the ticket is pending can place a hold on a person’s ability to renew their driving privileges. The law on this issue is as follows:
Sec. 706.004. DENIAL OF RENEWAL OF DRIVER’S LICENSE. (a) If a political subdivision has contracted with the department, on receiving the necessary information from the political subdivision the department may deny renewal of the person’s driver’s license for failure to appear based on a complaint or citation or failure to pay or satisfy a judgment ordering the payment of a fine and cost in the manner ordered by the court…
Removing The Hold On A Texas Driver’s License
Sec. 706.005. CLEARANCE NOTICE TO DEPARTMENT. (a) A political subdivision shall immediately notify the department that there is no cause to continue to deny renewal of a person’s driver’s license based on the person’s previous failure to appear or failure to pay or satisfy a judgment ordering the payment of a fine and cost in the manner ordered by the court in a matter involving an offense described by Section 706.002(a), on payment of a fee as provided by Section 706.006 and:
(1) the perfection of an appeal of the case for which the warrant of arrest was issued or judgment arose;
(2) the dismissal of the charge for which the warrant of arrest was issued or judgment arose;
(3) the posting of bond or the giving of other security to reinstate the charge for which the warrant was issued;
(4) the payment or discharge of the fine and cost owed on an outstanding judgment of the court; or
(5) other suitable arrangement to pay the fine and cost within the court’s discretion.
(b) The department may not continue to deny the renewal of the person’s driver’s license under this chapter after the department receives notice:
(1) under Subsection (a);
(2) that the person was acquitted of the charge on which the person failed to appear; or
(3) from the political subdivision that the failure to appear report or court order to pay a fine or cost relating to the person:
(A) was sent to the department in error; or
(B) has been destroyed in accordance with the political subdivision’s records retention policy.
First step then, is to lift the warrant for the outstanding traffic tickets. This means that a lawyer must be hired to go to the court where the warrant is pending and file a surety bond to lift the warrant. Once the warrant is lifted, then the administrative fee can be paid to remove the hold.
Sec. 706.006. PAYMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE FEE. (a) A person who fails to appear for a complaint or citation for an offense described by Section 706.002(a) shall be required to pay an administrative fee of $30 for each complaint or citation reported to the department under this chapter, unless the person is acquitted of the charges for which the person failed to appear. The person shall pay the fee when:
(1) the court enters judgment on the underlying offense reported to the department;
(2) the underlying offense is dismissed; or
(3) bond or other security is posted to reinstate the charge for which the warrant was issued.
(b) A person who fails to pay or satisfy a judgment ordering the payment of a fine and cost in the manner the court orders shall be required to pay an administrative fee of $30.
Attorney For Traffic Ticket Warrants
(c) The department may deny renewal of the driver’s license of a person who does not pay a fee due under this section until the fee is paid. The fee required by this section is in addition to any other fee required by law.
These two steps must be taken to remove the hold. First, the warrant must be lifted. Second, the administrative fee must be paid.