By: Beltz Law Firm
Share This Post
Reasons Why A License Can Be Suspended In Texas
Lawyer For Suspended License
There are a variety of reasons why a driver license can be suspended in Texas. Each issue needs to be handled in a very specific way in order to remove the suspension properly. If not handled properly it can cause even more damage to a driving record than before. That is why it is important to consult a lawyer for a suspended license in Texas to ensure that you get the job done right. If after reading this article you would like to discuss your case with our driver license suspension lawyers, feel free to contact our office at 214-321-4105.
Driver License Suspension Reasons In Texas
- Crash Suspension: When DPS receives notice an individual has been involved in a crash which resulted in an injury, death or property damages of at least $1,000, the uninsured driver is subject to a driver license suspension.
- Driving While License is Invalid (DWLI): Individuals who drive a motor vehicle while their driver license is suspended, revoked, denied or cancelled are subject to an additional suspension for the same period of time as the original suspension.
- Alcohol-Related Offenses:
An “adult” is any individual who is 21 years of age and older. Adults who are convicted of DWI might:
- Be required to attend an Alcohol Education Program, 12-hour Intervention Program for regular DWI or 32-hour DWI repeat offenders
- Have their driver license suspended for a period not to exceed two years (for first-time offenses), or
- Receive probation.
- If granted probation, the individual will be required to complete a 12-hour class in an authorized Alcohol Education Program unless the requirement is waived by the presiding judge.
- Completion of the appropriate Alcohol Education Program must be submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) within 180 days from date of conviction or the driver license will be revoked.
Drug or Controlled Substance Offenses:
Individuals who are convicted of a drug or controlled substance offense:
- Will have their driver license suspended for 180 days, and
- Are required to complete a 15-hour class in an authorized Drug Education Program for each conviction.
NOTICE: Online courses will not be accepted for this requirement
Individuals who do not have a driver license at the time of the offense will be denied the issuance of a driver license for 180 days. The 180 days for the denial of issuance, also known as an Order of Prohibition, starts when the individual contacts the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) inquiring about a driver license. Forms are not available online but may be obtained at any driver license office or by calling our Customer Contact Center at (512) 424-2600.
Drug Education Program
Classes for the Drug Education Program are offered through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). For a list of approved classes, please contact TDLR at 800-803-9202.
- Traffic Offenses:
A driver license may be suspended when an individual is convicted of
- Four or more moving traffic violations within a 12-month period, or
- Seven or more moving traffic violations within a 24-month period.
Individuals who have been convicted of at least two offenses for a violation that conflicts with a restriction or endorsement printed on their driver license are also subject to a suspension or disqualification.